February 28, 2024

We are creating some awesome events for you. Kindly bear with us.

Singapore and India set up Joint Working Group to advance in FinTech cooperation

On 2 June, it was announced
that India and Singapore signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to
establish a Joint Working Group (JWG) to strengthen cooperation in financial
innovation between the two countries.

The MoU was signed between the Department of Economic Affairs (DEA) of
India and the Monetary
Authority of Singapore

 “Singapore and India
have embarked on a digitalisation journey to harness technology and boost
innovation. Both countries have a growing and vibrant FinTech ecosystem. The
Joint Working Group is a testament of our continued collaboration with India,
to learn from each other, undertake joint innovation projects, and progress
together,” said Ms Jacqueline Loh, Deputy Managing Director of MAS.

The JWG will be co-chaired by MAS Deputy Managing Director
Jacqueline Loh and India Department of Financial Services (DFS) Additional
Secretary Ravi Mital. The JWG will also include Indian representatives from the
DEA, Ministry of Electronics
and Information Technology
, Union Identification Authority of India,
Reserve Bank of
, Stock
Exchange Board of India
, Insurance Regulatory Development Authority of
, and the
Ministry of External Affairs of India
, while Singapore will be
represented by various agencies will include the Smart Nation and Digital
Government Office (SNDGO), Government Technology Agency
(GovTech), Enterprise
and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

According to the press release, Singapore and India have
already achieved good progress in FinTech co-operation. Singapore’s key
domestic payment system operator NETS and India’s umbrella
organisation for all retail payments National Payments Corporation of India
(NPCI) have entered a partnership to establish a cross-border payment linkage
between Singapore’s PayNow
and India’s
Immediate Payment Service
(IMPS). The cross-border linkage will
facilitate real-time fund transfer between bank accounts in India and Singapore
to support trade, tourism and remittance.

Currently, NETS and NPCI are working on a payment linkage
that will allow anyone holding a NETS payment card to be able to make payments
at any RuPay
merchant in India, and conversely for Rupay card users to make NETS acceptance
points in Singapore. RuPay is an Indian domestic card scheme that facilitates
e-payments. NETS and NPCI are also exploring the use of Indian national mobile
payments app, the Bharat Interface for Money
(BHIM) app, to pay at NETS merchants.

According to High Commissioner of the Republic of India to
Singapore H.E. Mr Jawed Ashraf, a digital revolution, anchored on the biometric
identity of a billion plus people, is sweeping through India.

“It has prompted financial inclusion, digital payments and
innovation on an extraordinary scale,” he said.

On the India-Singapore collaboration, H.E. Mr Ashraf
commented that Singapore, a global financial hub, has emerged as a leading
centre for FinTech.

“Our partnership will not only support our two nations’
progress in FinTech, but also help drive our international competitiveness and
success in this area. The JWG on FinTech demonstrates our willingness to seize
new opportunities for collaboration,” he added.

The MOU signing took place during the Official
Visit of Prime Minister Narendra Modi of the Republic of India to Singapore
from 31 May to 2 June 2018, and was witnessed by both Prime Minister Modi and
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong of the Republic of Singapore.


Qlik’s vision is a data-literate world, where everyone can use data and analytics to improve decision-making and solve their most challenging problems. A private company, Qlik offers real-time data integration and analytics solutions, powered by Qlik Cloud, to close the gaps between data, insights and action. By transforming data into Active Intelligence, businesses can drive better decisions, improve revenue and profitability, and optimize customer relationships. Qlik serves more than 38,000 active customers in over 100 countries.


CTC Global Singapore, a premier end-to-end IT solutions provider, is a fully owned subsidiary of ITOCHU Techno-Solutions Corporation (CTC) and ITOCHU Corporation.

Since 1972, CTC has established itself as one of the country’s top IT solutions providers. With 50 years of experience, headed by an experienced management team and staffed by over 200 qualified IT professionals, we support organizations with integrated IT solutions expertise in Autonomous IT, Cyber Security, Digital Transformation, Enterprise Cloud Infrastructure, Workplace Modernization and Professional Services.

Well-known for our strengths in system integration and consultation, CTC Global proves to be the preferred IT outsourcing destination for organizations all over Singapore today.


Planview has one mission: to build the future of connected work. Our solutions enable organizations to connect the business from ideas to impact, empowering companies to accelerate the achievement of what matters most. Planview’s full spectrum of Portfolio Management and Work Management solutions creates an organizational focus on the strategic outcomes that matter and empowers teams to deliver their best work, no matter how they work. The comprehensive Planview platform and enterprise success model enables customers to deliver innovative, competitive products, services, and customer experiences. Headquartered in Austin, Texas, with locations around the world, Planview has more than 1,300 employees supporting 4,500 customers and 2.6 million users worldwide. For more information, visit www.planview.com.


SIRIM is a premier industrial research and technology organisation in Malaysia, wholly-owned by the Minister​ of Finance Incorporated. With over forty years of experience and expertise, SIRIM is mandated as the machinery for research and technology development, and the national champion of quality. SIRIM has always played a major role in the development of the country’s private sector. By tapping into our expertise and knowledge base, we focus on developing new technologies and improvements in the manufacturing, technology and services sectors. We nurture Small Medium Enterprises (SME) growth with solutions for technology penetration and upgrading, making it an ideal technology partner for SMEs.


HashiCorp provides infrastructure automation software for multi-cloud environments, enabling enterprises to unlock a common cloud operating model to provision, secure, connect, and run any application on any infrastructure. HashiCorp tools allow organizations to deliver applications faster by helping enterprises transition from manual processes and ITIL practices to self-service automation and DevOps practices. 


IBM is a leading global hybrid cloud and AI, and business services provider. We help clients in more than 175 countries capitalize on insights from their data, streamline business processes, reduce costs and gain the competitive edge in their industries. Nearly 3,000 government and corporate entities in critical infrastructure areas such as financial services, telecommunications and healthcare rely on IBM’s hybrid cloud platform and Red Hat OpenShift to affect their digital transformations quickly, efficiently and securely. IBM’s breakthrough innovations in AI, quantum computing, industry-specific cloud solutions and business services deliver open and flexible options to our clients. All of this is backed by IBM’s legendary commitment to trust, transparency, responsibility, inclusivity and service.

Send this to a friend