We are creating some awesome events for you. Kindly bear with us.

Indian Railways Inks MoU With RailTel e-Offices

Indian Railways MoU With RailTel E Offices
Image credit: Press Information Bureau of India

After the successful completion of the phase-I execution of the National Informatics Centres (NIC) e-office for 50,000 users in 58 units, the Indian Railways has inked a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with RailTel for phase-II of the project.

RailTel is a public sector undertaking (PSU) under the Ministry of Railways. In phase-II, RailTel will register 39,000 users over 34 railway divisions on NIC’s e-office platform by 30 June 2020.

A government press release claimed that the second phase of the e-office execution started with a mandate to complete the work by March 2020, but RailTel completed the work ahead of time. The PSU successfully created more than 50,000 users in 58 units of the Indian Railways and trained executives to handle the platform in six months.

NIC’s e-office is a cloud-enabled software that is deployed from RailTel Tier-III certified data centres at Secundrabad and Gurgaon.

According to the release, the technology is based on the central secretariat manual of the e-office procedure (CSMeOP).  Currently, four modules: file management system (eFile), knowledge management system (KMS), collaboration and messaging services (CAMS), and personnel information management system (PIMS) are part of the e-office system being implemented.

E-offices foster a paper-less culture that will not only save operational costs but also reduce carbon footprint, which is one of the most urgent needs of the world and directly impacts every citizen of the country, the release added.

Recently, the Indian Railways announced its plan to install internet protocol (IP)-based video surveillance systems (VSS) at stations across the country. The VSS will be set up in waiting halls, reservation counters, parking areas, main entrances/exits, platforms, foot-over bridges, and booking offices.

As OpenGov reported earlier, the Railway Board, the apex body of the Indian Railways, approved the installation of the VSS in 983 stations. The agency was allotted a budget of IN ₹250 crores (about US $35.1 million).

Four types of full HD cameras will be used for better coverage and clearer images: a dome type (for indoor areas), bullet type (for platforms), pan-tilt-zoom type (for parking areas), and ultra HD- 4k cameras (for crucial locations).

Also, CCTV camera live-feeds are displayed on multiple screens at the railway protection force (RPF) control room for monitoring. Recordings of the video feeds from CCTV cameras will be stored for 30 days for playback, post-event analysis, and investigation purposes. Important videos may be stored for a longer period.

Integrated security systems comprising of CCTVs have already been installed at 11 stations including Bengaluru with 71 cameras, Yesvantpur with 35 cameras, and Mysuru with 34 cameras.

With this, the South Western Railway, one of the 18 railway zones in the country, has operational CCTVs at 17 locations. Phase-I work will be completed by deploying functional CCTVs at 20 railway stations by the end of this month.

Security personnel can monitor these cameras not only from station control rooms but also from central security control rooms located at Divisional Headquarters, that is, in Hubballi, Mysuru, and Bengaluru.


CTC Global Singapore, a premier end-to-end IT solutions provider, is a fully owned subsidiary of ITOCHU Techno-Solutions Corporation (CTC) and ITOCHU Corporation.

Since 1972, CTC has established itself as one of the country’s top IT solutions providers. With 50 years of experience, headed by an experienced management team and staffed by over 200 qualified IT professionals, we support organizations with integrated IT solutions expertise in Autonomous IT, Cyber Security, Digital Transformation, Enterprise Cloud Infrastructure, Workplace Modernization and Professional Services.

Well-known for our strengths in system integration and consultation, CTC Global proves to be the preferred IT outsourcing destination for organizations all over Singapore today.


Planview has one mission: to build the future of connected work. Our solutions enable organizations to connect the business from ideas to impact, empowering companies to accelerate the achievement of what matters most. Planview’s full spectrum of Portfolio Management and Work Management solutions creates an organizational focus on the strategic outcomes that matter and empowers teams to deliver their best work, no matter how they work. The comprehensive Planview platform and enterprise success model enables customers to deliver innovative, competitive products, services, and customer experiences. Headquartered in Austin, Texas, with locations around the world, Planview has more than 1,300 employees supporting 4,500 customers and 2.6 million users worldwide. For more information, visit www.planview.com.


SIRIM is a premier industrial research and technology organisation in Malaysia, wholly-owned by the Minister​ of Finance Incorporated. With over forty years of experience and expertise, SIRIM is mandated as the machinery for research and technology development, and the national champion of quality. SIRIM has always played a major role in the development of the country’s private sector. By tapping into our expertise and knowledge base, we focus on developing new technologies and improvements in the manufacturing, technology and services sectors. We nurture Small Medium Enterprises (SME) growth with solutions for technology penetration and upgrading, making it an ideal technology partner for SMEs.


HashiCorp provides infrastructure automation software for multi-cloud environments, enabling enterprises to unlock a common cloud operating model to provision, secure, connect, and run any application on any infrastructure. HashiCorp tools allow organizations to deliver applications faster by helping enterprises transition from manual processes and ITIL practices to self-service automation and DevOps practices. 


IBM is a leading global hybrid cloud and AI, and business services provider. We help clients in more than 175 countries capitalize on insights from their data, streamline business processes, reduce costs and gain the competitive edge in their industries. Nearly 3,000 government and corporate entities in critical infrastructure areas such as financial services, telecommunications and healthcare rely on IBM’s hybrid cloud platform and Red Hat OpenShift to affect their digital transformations quickly, efficiently and securely. IBM’s breakthrough innovations in AI, quantum computing, industry-specific cloud solutions and business services deliver open and flexible options to our clients. All of this is backed by IBM’s legendary commitment to trust, transparency, responsibility, inclusivity and service.

Send this to a friend